The PCC (parochial church council) is the church’s governing body.  The priest, two churchwardens and two Deanery Synod representatives are ex-officio members.  The remaining  members are elected for a three year term on a rolling basis.  After serving a term they must then stand down for a year.  The Deanery Synod representatives are elected together every three years and represent All Saints to the Synod and the Synod to All Saints.  All these elections take place at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM).  Anyone on the Electoral Roll of the church is able to vote in these elections.

The two churchwardens are each elected for a year in office and may serve up to six years continuously before they must stand down.  This election takes place at the Vestry Meeting that immediately precedes the APCM.  The Vestry meeting is open to those on the Electoral Roll and the Local Government Register of Voters for the Parish.  After election the churchwardens take up office after they have been sworn in at the Archdeacon’s Visitation in May and then become the Bishop’s Officers until the next Archdeacon’s Visitation.  Churchwarden is an ancient and honourable office of great significance in the life of the church.

The PCC is assisted in its work by several sub-groups:

  • Child Protection
  • Finance and Property
  • Health and Safety
  • Shared Ministry Development Team
PCC Membership
Ex-OfficioPriest-in-chargeVernon Cuthbert
(elected annually)
Beverley George
Jenny Grant
Deanery Synod
(elected to synod for three years to 31 May 2020)
Cathy Barnes (Vice Chairperson and PCC Secretary)
Keith Higgin (Treasurer)
Elected for 3 yearsuntil APCM 2022Anne Hudson
Helen Belsham
Rob Lawson
until APCM 2023Jill Rowden
until APCM 2024Marie Philpott

Drop in and say ‘Hello’

The Parish Hall and Old Schoolroom on Sunderland Road (SR6 7UR) are available for hire, please contact the Parish Administrator for availability and charges.

Sacred space is available in the worship area of All Saints off Cleadon Lane (SR6 7UU)
Monday to Friday 9.30am-3.30pm for private prayer.
Donations to the Key2Life Foodbank may also be left here near the font.

This may be subject to short-notice change occasionally.


The Parochial Church Council of All Saints, Cleadon is committed to creating and maintaining a safe and nurturing environment for everyone, especially for children, young people and vulnerable adults. It has adopted and approved the Church of England policy for promoting a safer church. This policy deals with all aspects of safeguarding children and vulnerable adults.

Contacts for Safeguarding concerns and the Parish Safeguarding Policy can be found here.

Parish Office

If you would like more information, please do not hesitate to contact the Parish Office. It is based in the rear of the Parish Hall and can be accessed from the yard behind the Old Schoolroom.

M: 9.15am-11.15am
Tu: 9.15am-11.15am
W: 9.15am-11.15am
Th: 9.15am-11.15am
F: Closed

0191 519 0515


The Parish Office
1-3 Sunderland Road